Time to Check in on 2015 Goals

As we near the end of the month, I’m checking in on where I’m at with my goals for 2015 and what I want to go regarding them moving forward.

My first goal for this year was to run 12 races, any distance meaning I had to average a race per month to reach this goal. So far it’s April and I’m right on track with four races logged in the books. Although I didn’t have any races in January, I made up for it in February by running both the Sarasota Music Half and the Enchanted 10K. In March I hit race #3 with the Pedal for Pups: Ride and Run, where I placed 3rd in my age division. Not to mention, my bib number was also 3. Looks like that was my lucky number. And finally, the fourth race was at the beginning of this month with the Run for the Turtles. Plus, I’m signed up for two more races, so I’m certainly making good progress with this goal.

My second goal of the year is not going as well. I wanted to eat healthier this year by cooking my meals at home at least three times a week. While I’ve been better about going out less and bringing my lunch to work, I have not been cooking at home as much as I should be. Therefore, I need to refocus on this goal.

One thing that is certainly helping is my Blue Apron box. If you haven’t heard of Blue Apron, you should certainly check this out. It’s weekly meals delivered to your doorstep, ready to cook. It takes the guess work out of dinner. I have the 2-person option, and I can tell you the serving sizes are big enough that I’ve gotten anywhere from 3-5 meals from each recipe. I may not eat as much as some people, but even two servings it a great deal.

Although Blue Apron gives me three meals, I don’t always cook them in a week. I have my delivery schedule set to come every other week, so sometime I freeze the ingredients to use the following week. I also have a ton of cookbooks I really need to break out and try. I love that Blue Apron gives me some variety, but I could certainly look at more options.

In order to get back on track with my second goal, I’ve decided I need to start planning my weekly meals out each Sunday when I work on my schedule for the week. Typically on Sunday I sit down and plan my workouts, fun activities, make sure all my meetings are penciled in, and all that other stuff. I think if I start planning my meals and the nights I’m going to cook, I’ll do a much better job at achieving this goal.

So, we’re a third into the year…how are your goals going? Have you reflected on them and what you need to do to stay on track or get back on track? Leave your comments below and you’ll be entered into a drawing for a free meal from Blue Apron!

*     *     *     *     *

**Disclaimer: This post was to reflect on my goals. I was not solicited by Blue Apron to promote their product/services. Blue Apron is a service I enjoy and I have free meals I’m willing to give away to my readers. From time to time companies will ask me to help promote their products and services. I will always state when that is the case. For more information, please read my disclosure policy.**

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

