Check In: 2015 Goals

I can’t believe we’re already through 66% of the year! Since there are only four months left for me to complete my goals for the year, I figured with was time to check in and see where I was at. When I last checked in back in April I was doing really well with my fitness goal, but not my nutrition goal. Well that has flip flopped now.

Because summer in Florida is not the best time of the year to run, I have not been getting my races in. My goal was to get 12 races done this year, averaging one per month, but right now I’m only at six races. Only half way there…that means I have to get six more in before the end of the year. I have the Detroit Half Marathon planned, but I need to find five others. And based on my busy work schedule, that is going to be hard to do. I’ve gone almost every weekend in September, so that means I lose out on valuable race time, October I’m traveling for work and for fun, November I should be home so that will help, and December is another traveling month. I’m starting to worry about completing this goal. I may end up running a lot of 5Ks because I don’t need to train for those.

Now, the good news is I’ve gotten much better about my nutritional goal. I wanted to cook at home at least three times per week. In my last post I mentioned I was going to plan my meals out to help with this goal. I did not do that but I did manage to start cooking at least three times per week because of my Blue Apron box! I only order it on the weeks I know I’ll have time to cook all of the meals. But I still manage to cook other items through the weeks I don’t get my box, even if it’s just a quick pasta dish.

I’ve also been better about it because my coworkers and I decided we’re only going out to lunch for Taco Tuesday and birthdays. That certainly gives me more motivation to cook.

All in all, I’m happy with where I’m at regarding my goals, but I’ve still got more to go by the end of the year.

And if you’re looking to amp up your cooking game, fill out the form below to win a free box from Blue Apron! Winner will be contacted by email on September 25th.

Leave a Reply

