2016 Goals

If you read my last post you’ll know 2015 didn’t go as planned. So now I want to look forward to 2016.

For those that haven been following my blog for awhile, you know that I like to set goals as opposed to resolutions. When it comes down to it, they’re pretty similar. I just like using the term “goal” because it makes things feel more obtainable.

I’ve been thinking about my 2016 goals for a while now. What do I want to accomplish next year? I struggled this year, especially with the nutrition goal, so what did I want to be my focus for next year? I finally came up with three things I would like to accomplish though out the year.

  1. Be a Better Blogger: This year I felt like I fell off the bandwagon with blogging. I received hundreds of articles, press release, and pitches, but I just had a hard time keeping up with that and my day job. In 2016 I want to get back on track with blogging. For this goal I want to average two blog post per week – one personal and one news/informative. To do this, I’m going to use my Erin Condren planner to include all my blogging info in addition to all my other planning efforts. Stay tuned for my plan with me series regarding that.
  2. Get a PR in the 5K: Last year I focused on the quantity of races. This year I want to focus on the quality. I picked getting a personal record at the 5K over any other distance because I feel like that’s the hardest one for me to PR at. With longer distances I can change up my pacing more often because it’s a longer distance. With the 5K I don’t have that flexibility and consistently run a 30-35 minute 5K. I would like to get that down this upcoming year.
  3. Plan My Weekly Meals: Similar to this past year, I want to focus on nutrition. I really need to get better about packing my lunch (or “adulting” as my co-workers and I call it). I can’t continue to go out to lunch because it’s just not healthy overall. I need to be better about cooking and planning my meals. This is something else I’ll be using my planner for.

As you can see, the above comes down to being a better planner. If I can keep up with these items in my busy schedule, I have no doubt that I’ll reach my goals in 2016. Be sure to follow Muffy’s Fitness Blog for status updates on my goals and the plan with me series to help me get there.

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

