2015 Recap

I can’t believe 2015 is already coming to a close. This year went by so fast. I have no idea how it happened. At work we keep talking about “after the new year” and that’s in just a couple of days. I just can’t believe it.

So this year is a little disappointing for me, because I did not achieve the goal I set for myself. I could sit and dwell on that, but I want to look back at all the things I did achieve this year.

I completed a total of ten races, and of those ten races, three of them were new personal records for me. Those were records for the half marathon, 4-miler, and the new for me, 5K paddleboard and run. I also placed in my age group for the first time during the Pedal for Pups 4-miler. All really exciting things.

This year I also did my first paddleboard race. It was insanely hard and I have no desire to do it again, but I was super proud of myself for finishing. And even happier that I didn’t come in last place.

This was also the year that I stayed away from the Disney half marathons to try and experience more local races. I have to say I was really glad I did. The Sarasota Music Half in February was awesome and I ran it way faster than I expected. I also had friends there cheering me on, which was really fun. It was the first time I had friends there supporting me.

The second half marathon I ran was the Detroit Half Marathon and that was where I broke my record and recorded a new time of 2:31:32, about three minutes from my previous record. I hardly trained for it, so I give all the credit to the cold temperatures for my speedy time.

Outside of the race world, I also started teaching Zumba and attended my first Zumba Convention. And because I started teaching again, I recently landed a subbing position at Crunch Fitness. It’s been pretty exciting and all happened really fast.

Overall, I didn’t reach my goal, but I had a pretty great year. Here’s to 2016!

Leave a Reply

