Gasparilla 15K Training Check-In

So I figured now would be a good time to check in and report my progress of training for the Gasparilla 15K taking place in Tampa, FL on February 21. It has not been good…

To start with, I have not gone for a real run since signing up. I signed up for the Gasparilla challenge on Map My Run, and have logged a few miles there, but they have all been while walking with my mom in the morning. The other issues was not long after I signed up, I got sick. I only worked out one day and that was because I was teaching Zumba, so I had to. Otherwise I would go to work, then come home and go to bed. That lasted almost a week, so there was no hope in running.

At this point, I’m two weeks out from the race, and that means I need to crack down and get going. I want to at least get my 30 miles in for the challenge. If I can get more in to make myself feel ready, great. But if not, I’ll be happy with 30 miles total.

And going forward, I need to be proactive about training programs. I have two half marathons planned for this year and I want to get my 5K time down. Those factors will all play a part in keeping up with my running this year and making sure I stick with my training programs.

Now, let’s hope my next post shares a bit more progress than this one.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

