Sweet Treat for Valentine’s Day

The weather in most of the country is cold, meaning going out for Valentine’s Day might not be the best decision. This might be the weekend to cuddle up with someone you love and stay in for movies and snacks. And while it might seems like it’s too cold for ice cream, you’ll certainly want to try Halo Top Ice Cream. Halo Top is a 100% organic, low calorie, high protein ice cream. I was lucky enough to try it and it tastes good!
unnamedI was lucky enough to receive four pints of Halo Top to try out and I was pretty excited about it. I love ice cream (almost as much as I love donuts), so I was extremely interested to learn more about Halo Top Creamery.

Halo Top’s 6 grams of protein and 4 grams of fiber per serving make it an awesome product for fitness buffs and those looking to watch their weight. There are only 60-80 calories per serving, and if you’re feeling the need to binge, only 240-280 calories per pint. And trust me, I was ready to eat the whole pint of chocolate when I tasted it.

Of the four pints I got, the chocolate was my favorite. It was creamy and rich, just the way chocolate ice cream should be. The vanilla bean was a close second. I also got strawberry and lemon cake. I was excited to try the lemon cake, but was a little disappointed it in. There was nothing wrong with it, I just expected it to be a bit more creamy like the chocolate and vanilla were. I also think because it was “lemon cake” and not just “lemon” it took on a bit of a flavor I wasn’t expecting. The strawberry was fine as well. I’m not a big fan of strawberry ice cream, but it tasted just as I would think strawberry ice cream would taste like. My 11-year-old cousins loved it though, and if kids like it, you know it’s good.

The idea for this  cream came from Halo Top’s CEO/Founder, Justin Wolverton, who grew tried of eating Greek yogurt to get the protein he wanted, but the taste of something sweet like ice cream. He decided that he’d start creating his own ice cream to get what he wanted. “I tinkered with the recipe for a few months and began receiving feedback from those around me who were also on the lookout for clean & healthy ice cream options,” Wolverton said, “I first thought of Halo Top in early 2011 but the product didn’t hit shelves until summer of 2012 – after over a year and a half of R&D.”

Halo Top is a one-of-a-kind ice cream. As such a innovative product, it is the first low-calorie, all natural ice cream. It is also rich in protein but low in sugar, which is the exact inverse of “light” ice cream competitors. As Wolverton said, “Not only do these things make Halo Top healthier, but they also work together to make our ice cream taste real and substantial — as opposed to something that tastes like frozen cotton candy or a frozen protein shake.” 

I’m going to continue to check my local Whole Foods for Halo Top because I’d love to try the birthday cake and mint chip flavors. Those are two of my favorite ice cream flavors, and if they’re as good as the ones I tried this week, I’ll be addicted.

So if you’re ready to try Halo Top, hurry out now to get this sweet treat for you and your valentine. Use this link to locate a store near you: http://www.halotop.com/where-to-buy/

* * * * *

**Disclaimer: This product was given to me by Halo Top Creamery in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. For more information, please read my disclosure policy.**

Leave a Reply

