Doggie Bones 5K

This morning I ran the Doggie Bones 5K, a fundraiser for Nate’s Honor Animal Rescue where I adopt my pups from. This was the first race of the year for me since I skipped out on Gasparilla. It was also my first 5K of the year, which is important because I want to get my 5K time down.

I knew that wasn’t going to happen with this race since I haven’t been running much and I hadn’t done a race since early December 2015. Even though I didn’t get my time or pace down, it was a good first race of the year. I finished with a time of 34:58, which is right in the middle of all my other 5K times over the past few years. That is certainly a confidence boost and I know it can only get better from here with some training.

The other reason this race was so good was because I didn’t take a walking break until the second half of it. I walked through the water station as always, and then took another walking break after completing the second mile. For the most part, I ran. This also gives me a confidence boost going into my next race.

And the best part of all – finisher medals! Last year I placed third in my age group so I got a medal. This year I didn’t place, but I still got a medal and that makes me very happy. I love that it’s a paw print.

Now it’s off to the next race. I have the Run for the Turtles on the books. It’s another 5K but I’m expecting my pace to be slower since it’s on the beach and the sand slows me down. I’m still excited though and it’s always good practice.

Leave a Reply

