St. Puppy’s Day Hash

I never thought I would be one of those people that cooks meals for their dogs. Why would I when I could want into Petco and grab a bag of Blue Buffalo to feed them?

Well when my mom came to visit, she switched out their wet food for homemade chicken breast. I kept them with it, especially because I had to go out of town and I figured they’d eat the chicken for my dog sitter. Even when I came back, I didn’t switch them from the chicken. Instead, I went to a lecture about cooking for your dog.

After that my dogs were typical fed a mix of turkey, rice and veggies. Sometimes I switch it up and give them chicken or egg, but for almost a year now, I’ve cooked for my dogs.

Needless to say, I was pretty interested when I found out about Kris Rotonda’s Doggy Cooking Network on YouTube. This channel has lots of great options for yummy food for your dog. And the best part is, you know exactly what you’re feeding them. Check out the chart below from PupPot on how cooking for your dog can improve their life.

circle-graph

Not only is it healthier for the dogs, it also healthier for their owner. I notice I cook more often because I already have to cook for them, might as well make something for myself too.

So with St. Patrick’s Day less than a week a way, I wanted to share one of Rotonda’s dog food recipes – St. Puppy’s Day Hash.

Ingredients
2 baking potatoes (1-1 ½ lbs.), peeled and shredded
Sea salt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
½ cup shredded carrots
¾ cup chopped corned beef
½ cup of half-and-half
¼ cup grated cheese
Ground pepper
4 large eggs, scrambled

Directions
1. Place the potatoes in a colander, lightly salt and set aside.
2. Melt butter in the PupPot over medium heat. Mix in the potatoes, carrots, and corned beef. Increase the heat to medium-high. Cover pot. Stir every 5 minutes. Cook until potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.
3. Stir in half-and-half and turn off hear. Season with pepper and cheese.
4. Top hash with the cooked eggs.

Leave a Reply

