Goals Check-In: April

I can’t believe it’s already April! A quarter of the year has passed, which means it’s time to check in on the progress of my goals for 2016. I divided my goals into three categories: blogging, fitness, and nutrition. Let’s review how it’s going.

Blogging: For this goal I want to average two blog post per week – one personal and one news/informative.

In January and February I did a really good job with this goal. I had nine posts in January and ten in February, which certainly averages out to twice per week. March is where I’ve fallen off. I only had five posts. However, I can look back at my calendar and see that I didn’t plan as much content to post and I was insanely busy with a project at work. All things that impacted it.

So far in April I’ve missed a post I planned on writing, but it’s still early in the month, so plenty of time to make sure I pick back up with this goal.

Fitness: Getting a personal record for the 5K.

So far I have done two 5K races this year and I’m not even close to getting my time down. Part of that is lack of training. The other part is because it’s early in the year. I did not expect to accomplish this goal right at the start of 2016. I figured I would give myself the year to get to this. Plus, races in Florida are usually better in October-December based on the weather.

What I will say is important is the fact I’ve found 5Ks to do and have been doing them. I didn’t start the year off great by skipping my 15K, so I wanted to make sure these 5Ks didn’t pass me by. There are a couple in May I think I’ll sign up for. After that, I need to focus on keeping up with running for the summer so that I can reach this goal by the end of the year.

Nutrition: Be better about cooking and planning my meals.

There are two parts to my progress on this goal. I’d have to say I’m at a 50% on this one. I have been much better about packing lunch like I wanted to be, but I have not been good about planning meals. When packing my lunch, I pretty much throw whatever I can find together. If I was better about planning my meals, I wouldn’t have to worry as much about packing lunch because it would be there, ready to go. Moving forward, I need to start thinking about my meals and figuring out the days and times I have to cook them so I’m prepared on the days I can’t cook.

Overall, I’m at a much better place than I thought I was at. And by doing this check-in, I know what I need to do to keep at it and reach my goals by the end of the year.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

