Plan With Me: April

Last month I mentioned that I was going to film a video for the month of April. Well, half way through planning this weekend I remembered that, so the video didn’t happen. Maybe in May.

Part of the reason I wanted to film this one is because I’ve changed things up a bit. I’ve been cutting back on stickers and have moved into the world of stamping. I was not a fan on last week’s spread, but I really like how this week came out. Check it out!

April PWM

I know it’s only been one week of April, but so far I’ve been great about scheduling my workouts and sticking with them.

This is also the first week that I have planned since checking in on my goals. Realizing that I need to get better about meal planning, I ordered a Blue Apron, hence the fork and knife stamp on Wednesday. However, I still haven’t figured out how I want to use my planner, to plan meals.

I’ve seen a lot of people use the bottom space of their planner to write out breakfast, lunch and dinner, but I don’t see that working for me. I reference my planner the most during the workday, so I don’t think I’d pay attention to what I planned on having for breakfast or lunch while I’m getting ready in the morning. I could possibly see this method working for dinner because I’d see it before leaving work and would know if I need to stop at the store on my way home.

My only concern with that is, my weeks change so much from when I initially plan that I don’t want to be covering stickers, using white out, or crossing things out as they change. And lets be honest, even if I did plan my meals day to day, I don’t see me writing it in my planner day to day. That’s one of the main reasons I sit down on Sunday night to plan. I don’t have to worry about what’s coming each night and I just add new meetings when they pop up.

I still need to give my meal planning some thought, especially because it’s April and a quarter of the year has already passed. If you have any tips or tricks when it comes to meal planning, I’d love to hear them. Leave your advice in the comments below.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sallie says:

    I bought the Meal Planning insert…even though I haven’t used it yet 😉 If you want to try it out, let me know!

    1. mlavens says:

      Thanks Sallie! I’ll let you know.

  2. I don’t have my meal plans in my planner, though I’ve considered it. The planner I use has shopping lists at the back though, so I’d conceivably use that if I did (more a meal planning to buy, not necessarily a what I’ll eat when…)

    1. mlavens says:

      Hi Bree! Interesting thought. I carry my planner everywhere with me, so maybe I’m better off keeping a grocery list than specifically writing in meals.

Leave a Reply

