#ZINCON2016

Holy moly! I can’t believe Zumba Convention has come and gone again. Those four days were so awesome and fun. I learned a lot and I’m so excited for the opportunity to teach again. And actually, I’m super excited to teach Aqua Zumba!

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 6.40.38 PM.png

My first day of convention, I took the Bollywood Obsession class and it was awesome! ZES Sucheta Pal is absolutely amazing and fun. I loved her session and I cannot wait to use the Bollywood music and dances she share with us.

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 6.57.49 PMI also went to the session called The Power of Connecting and Changing Lives with two of my favorite instructors, Steve Boedt and Kass Martin. They are incredible ZESes and there session was really eye opening. It was about connecting with people face to face when we live in a world of social media. We did drills based on communicating as opposed to most sessions where the drills were dance based. Of course, there was still some dancing. What else would you expect from ZINCON?!

My last session on day 1 was the Strong by Zumba Master Class. Strong is the new Zumba specialty class. It’s less dance based, but utilizes a combination of HIIT, body weight exercises and strength conditioning lead by music. The movements are in sync with the music just like Zumba, which is how it fits into the Zumba family. This class is one where you’ll love it or hate it. I was not the biggest fan of it, but I was glad I tried it. I don’t see this being one of the formats I’ll teach, but it was good to experience.

The second day was my all day Aqua Zumba Training. I loved it! The program is great. We started in the pool and the workout was a lot harder than I expected. The water adds a great deal of resistance so my muscles were feeling it. By the end of the master class, my muscles hurt more than with Zumba Toning. The other cool thing about Aqua Zumba is the typical Zumba routines I already know and love can be adapted to Aqua. I’m sure this is applicable to other specialties too, but this was the first time I had someone break it down. It’s only been two days since I got home from convention and I already have two Aqua Zumba routines done. Pretty cool, right?

Aqua Zumba Pool

After my all day training I got to have some fun at the Zumba Fitness Concert featuring Timbaland and Shaggy. It was a really great show and I had a lot of fun. I think I danced more at last year’s convention, but that’s because Aqua training really tired me out.

The third day of convention brought more sessions. I started my day at the Zumba Step Master Class. This was just a session for me to let loose. I have my Zumba Step license, but I haven’t taught that class, so it was good to just soak it in and refresh my memory on how Zumba Step works.

After that I went to a class on cueing. I was grateful for it because I can always use a brush up in cueing. Sometimes I can’t figure out the best way to work them in to my choreography, so it was good to work with. And finally, my last session of the day was customized choreography. I was so tired before this session I almost didn’t make it, but I was so glad I did. We took songs from the latest ZIN album and reworked the original choreography to something that’s more fitness based or simpler, or whatever worked for us. It was a really great experience.

The final day of convention brought one more class and the closing session. I skipped out on the closing session so I could start my drive home, but all in all, it was a great weekend. I’m ready for next year!

Leave a Reply

