Wine & Dine Training: Weeks 4-6

The time has come to run the 2016 Wine & Dine Half Marathon in Walt Disney World. Training has been minimal, but still more than I did before the Disneyland Paris Half Marathon, so I’m sure I’ll be fine. Here’s how the past three weeks have gone…

Week four only had one training run. It was just over 2.5 miles and I ran it at an 11:46 pace. Nothing too different about this run from the others I had been doing, so that was good. It was a quick run through the neighborhood before work.

During week five I got two runs in, and one of those was while I was on a business trip. That never seems to happen for me, so I was very proud of myself that I made the time to do it. The first run that week was the Monday before I left. It was a 2 mile run at an 11:53 pace. I felt slow that day, but still wanted to get in under a 12-minute mile average so I was glad I did that. The second run was on the treadmill in the hotel gym, so I just let the machine switch intervals instead of playing with my speed. That ended up being a 2.5 mile run at the exact same pace as Monday’s run.

Then week six started, the week of the race, and I’ve nothing. Yesterday morning I woke up earlier enough to go for a run, but I didn’t want to do anything too close to race day at that point so in the end, I did nothing. I did sub Zumba on Monday, so at least I had some cardio.

Off to Disney I go!

Leave a Reply

