Sarasota Music Half Recap

February is coming to an end, but I have one race to recap for the month, the Sarasota Music Half. This is the second time I’ve done this race. The first time was actually the inaugural one. The first time around was better, but this race went pretty well. It was also a reunion race of the group of us that ran the Wine & Dine Half in 2014, my mom, her friend, my boyfriend and me.

My boyfriend and I ran together during this one, which I discovered totally throws off my mental game. After running a few races with people, I’ve cover to realize I’m better on race day running by myself. Nevertheless, we had fun and how could you not with a race that features girl scout cookies!

The final 5K of this course was probably the biggest struggle for me. There’s this small section of the course that we went through at the beginning of the race that we had to go through again at the end. Having to back track that little bit just made the end feel awful.

Overall, the race went well and we finished with a time of 2:47:38. In March, I have a 5K coming up followed by my crazy endurance weekend in April. Wish me luck and stay tuned for updates!

Leave a Reply

